Activating background knowledge is one of the strategies I included on my professional development plan as it is something I find challenging to accomplish virtually.  When I previously taught in a brick and mortar school, I would tell an anecdote, ask questions,
read a short story, or show a short movie clip to help my students activate prior knowledge.

I like the strategy “Rethink Misconceptions: New Information Changes Thinking,” in Comprehension Going Forward (Keene, 2011, p. 98).  The teacher poses questions about a topic and the students write down answers based on what they think they know.   As the students read the story they fill in the “New Learning” column and can see if their views on the topic have changed.  

This strategy could be implemented virtually in a couple of ways.  I could create the chart and send it to the students to complete independently. Even better, students could attend my virtual class where we could discuss and share our thoughts on the topic. Students could even be separated into break-out rooms to share in small group setting and then we could complete the chart whole group.

Activating background knowledge is important to prepare students prior to reading a text, aid comprehension, and hopefully pique student interest as well.  This is why I am developing a plan to create and implement virtual strategies to use virtully so I am better able to assist my students in activating this prior knowledge. 

                                                         References

Harvey, S., & Goudvis, A. (2007). Strategies that work: Teaching comprehension
       to enhance
understanding. Portland, Me: Stenhouse Publishers.

                                                      








Leave a Reply.